Hidejiro Honjoh x ICE
Shamisen Evolution

October 5, 2018
past event image
Concert past event
Vijay IyerNathan Davis
Yu KuwabaraScott Johnson

Friday, October 5, 7:30 PM — Followed by a MetLife Meet-the-Artists Reception

Listen to Hidejiro Honjoh, young shamisen prodigy and disciple of Hidetaro Honjoh, create this traditional instrument’s 21st-century voice in an evening featuring living composers from the U.S. and Japan. Joined by members of the most sought-after contemporary music group International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE), Hidejiro delivers three world premieres composed by Grammy-nominee Vijay Iyer, Nathan Davis and Yu Kuwabara. The program also includes pieces by Yuji Takahashi and Dai Fujikura, along with the U.S. premiere of the full score of Scott Johnson‘s Up and Back for shamisen, electric guitar, cello and piano.

Piano: Phyllis Chen
Dulcimer/Percussion: Nathan Davis
Bassoon: Rebekah Heller
Cello: Katinka Kleijn
Electric Guitar: Scott Johnson

Tickets: $38/$30 members

Tickets can be purchased online, or by visiting/calling the Box Office at (212) 715-1258.

Box Office Policy

Hidejiro x ICE: Shamisen Evolution is supported by Doug and Teresa Peterson, and The Asahi Shimbun Foundation.

Images: Vijay Iyer © Barbara Rigon; Nathan Davis © Sylvia Milo; Scott Johnson © Patricia Nolan

  • Friday, October 5, 2018
  • 7:30 pm